EU prolongs sanctions over actions against Ukraine's territorial integrity until 15 March 2018

  • Press releases
  • 14/09/2017 16:06

Justice and Home Affairs Council (JHA)


Council of the EU meeting
Council of the EU meeting (photo: European Union)

On 14 September 2017, the Council prolonged the restrictive measures over actions undermining or threatening the territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence of Ukraine for a further six months, until 15 March 2018. The measures consist of asset freezes and travel bans.

An assessment of the situation did not justify a change in the sanctions regime. The list was reviewed and the Council removed four deceased persons from the list of persons subject to these restrictive measures. Following a merger involving three listed entities, these entities were removed from the list and the entity into which they have merged was added in order to maintain the existing level of sanctions. The restrictive measures now apply to 149 persons and 38 entities.

Read more on the website of the Council of the European Union.